Heart Check…

“Above all else, watch over your heart; diligently guard it
 because from a sincere and pure heart come the good and noble things of life.” Prov. 4:23

External vs. Internal

That’s where a heart check begins with me.

Am I spending all my time focused on my external, my works and reputation?

Or…

Am I spending any time at all focused on my internal, watching over my heart?

To be honest…

I live in the external and struggle with the willingness to surrender to the internal…or to be even more honest, the eternal, God and the work that He wants to do on my heart.

The problem with this way of thinking is that it’s useless.

Because, in times of struggle and weakness my works and reputation are of little value.  It’s my heart, it’s the watching of my heart that truly matters.

I love what the verse in Proverbs says:

“Watch over your heart…because from a sincere and pure heart come the good and noble things of life.”

And really, it’s my heart that God’s truly interested in…

“What sacrifice I can offer You is my broken spirit
 because a broken spirit, O God, 
a heart that honestly regrets the past, You won’t detest.” Ps. 51:17

Leave a comment